EARLY HISTORY | DOWNSTAIRS ROOMS | UPSTAIRS ROOMS | LATER YEARS
Come Visit the 1754 Chapman-Hall Study House and Museum.
Open to the public since 1961, the building is was entered on the National Register of Historic Places in 1970. In December 2008, ownership and stewardhip responsiblitiies were transfered to the Lincoln County Historical Association. LCHA is glad to have the Damariscotta Historical Society and several Chapman and Hall family descendants working closely with us to care for and interpret this jewel of an historic house.
Built in 1754 by housewright Nathaniel Chapman, of Ipswich, MA, the residence is not only the oldest building remaining in Damariscotta, but is also considered one of the oldest standing homes in the State of Maine. Chapman constructed the residence at the age of 51 and lived there until his death, at age 101, in 1804. The people who first lived in this house would have been subjects of the King of England because the house was built nearly twenty-five years before the Revolutionary War.
In 1960, just as the house was to be torn down to make way for a gas station, William Water, Dorothy Freeman, Grevis Melville, Mabel Gary and others formed a Chapman Hall House Preservation Society and bought the house to save it. On the advice of Abbott Lowell Cummings, all modern aspects were removed, leaving us this wonderful period study house where many of the earliert construction details are revealed.
Trained docents conduct tours of the house in the summer. Come see the ell, the kitchen or keeping room, the borning room, the yellow bedroom, the front entryway, the parlor or best room and the upstairs. Visitors can view the architectural details and the furnishings and artifacts that were used every day by the early settlers of Damariscotta.
MORE HISTORY MUSEUM HOURS